Claire Steel


  • 12 months+
  • 18 months+

Contact details:

  • 01534 730046

  • 07797 829133


  • St. Helier

I have two spaces available for September 2020. One is a full time, temporary space for a child 18 months+ until the end of October 2020. The other is term time only 2 days each week for a child over 12 months, from September onwards.

I have 12 years experience as a Primary School teacher with 9 of those years teaching Nursery or Reception aged children. I have a degree in Early Childhood Education birth-5 years, other training includes First Aid, Child Protection, SPELL Autism awareness, Language for Life, and Infection Control. Children with disabilities are always welcome, and I will make time to meet with outside agencies and implement prescribed care routines where needed.

I am happy for children to either be dropped at my house in the mornings or we can arrange to meet for pick up in a mutually convenient location. As a busy mum of two children myself I understand how getting everyone out of the door on time with all of their kit can be a challenge, this is why I provide healthy meals, snacks and drinks for all of the children at no extra charge, with a hot evening meal- just bring your child and a coat!

I truly believe we live in the most beautiful place and that our island is there to be explored! I myself love being outdoors and will take the children out at least 3 times per week. Along with the usual places such as Fort Regent, playgroups and the Zoo our favourite outdoor activities include rockpooling and sandcastle building at the beach, forest school activities, searching for minibeasts and splashing in the streams at the woods, taking the ride on toys and dolly prams along the cycle track, and anywhere we can show off our gross motor skills by climbing trees and jumping in puddles!

Along with a keepsake daily diary with colour photos, I also provide an online learning journal which charts the children’s development against the Development Matters Early Years profile. This can be easily transferred to Nursery when the time comes for the children and I to part ways. I provide opportunities for the children to demonstrate and refine their learning in an independent and nurturing environment. I have a very child-friendly house and large safe garden where the children can engage in the 7 areas of learning whilst they play. I consider myself a loose parts and messy play enthusiast! The children thoroughly enjoy engaging with their whole body and all of their senses to problem solve, build, and create. This type of play also provides rich opportunities for conversation and language development.

I always enjoy meeting new parents so please phone me to arrange a meeting, or feel free to look at my facebook page, Claire’s Family Childcare to learn more about what we do.

Claire is registered to care for 3 children.